Onondaga County Democrats Designate Greene For Mayor, Candidates For Council, Legislature

Feb 17, 2021

Michael Greene declares his candidacy for mayor in January.
Credit WAER file photo

The Onondaga County Democratic Committee has designated its slate of candidates for the 2021 election, which will include the Syracuse mayoral race.  Councilor-at-large Michael Greene earned 58 percent of the vote over fellow councilor-at-large Khalid Bey. 

In a statement, Green said he was honored to earn the support of the 220-member Democratic Committee.

"Syracuse is a city with a serious problem of leaving people behind, but with the right policies and the right leadership, we can uplift all of our community members. Together, we can make Syracuse a city for all of us.”

Greene did his share of lobbying the committee.  He says he made more than 1,000 calls and mailed 600 letters.  Greene was appointed to the council in 2017, and has since won elections in 2018 and 2019.  He chairs the council's finance committee.

Meanwhile, Khalid Bey also released a statement, where he congratulated Greene on the desigation.  But he also said he plans to continue his bid for mayor.  

Khalid Bey says he intends to pursue a primary.
Credit bey4mayor campaign

"Since I have announced my candidacy, there has been an undeniable wave of excitement and momentum surrounding this campaign.  As I continue my campaign, I look forward to having another opportunity to earn the endorsement of the OCDC after the primary.  The city of Syracuse deserves an authentic and passionate mayor who delivers informed and principled results.  I am confident that I am the person best fit to do that."

Bey says he will make a formal announcement on Friday.

Here's the remaining slate of candidates, as provided by the Committee:

Judge Erica T. Clarke was picked for the City Court Judge seat made vacant by Judge Rory McMahon's election to the New York State Supreme Court. Rasheada Caldwell and Councilor Ronnie White Jr. were chosen for the two Councilor-at-Large seats up in this year's election. Nyatwa Bullock, Karen J. Cordano, and David P. Maynard will be the Committee's candidates for Commissioner of Education. Incumbent school board members Pat Body, David Cecile, and Derrick Dorsey did not run for re-election. Incumbent Onondaga County Legislators in the 15th and 16th Districts were challenged for the Committee's designation. Legislator Bill Kinne was chosen in the 15th. Legislator Vernon M. Williams Jr. was designated in the 16th District. The full list of candidates designated on February 17th includes: FOR ONONDAGA COUNTY LEGISLATURE1st District - Justin Neal2nd District - Denise Baker3rd District - Matthew Johnson4th District - Stephon Williams5th District - Chris Shepherd6th District - Diane M. Dwire7th District - Mary Kuhn8th District - Christopher J. Ryan9th District - Peggy Chase10th District - Heather Waters11th District - Ryan Suser12th District - Sunny Aslam13th District - Sara Aaserud14th District - Shanelle Benson Reid15th District - Bill Kinne16th District - Vernon M. Williams, Jr.17th District - Linda R. Ervin  CITY OF SYRACUSEMayor - Michael GreeneCity Court Judge - Erica T. ClarkeCouncil President - Helen D. HudsonCouncilor-at-Large - Rasheada CaldwellCouncilor-at-Large - Ronnie White Jr.1st District Councilor - John P. Copanas2nd District Councilor - Patrick J. Hogan3rd District Councilor - Chol Majok4th District Councilor - Latoya D. Allen5th District Councilor - Joseph T. DriscollCommissioner of Education - Nyatwa BullockCommissioner of Education - Karen J. Cordano Commissioner of Education - David P. Maynard TOWN OF MANLIUSSupervisor - John T. DeerCouncilor - Sara Wall BollingerCouncilor - Katelyn KrieselCouncilor - William NicholsonJustice - David A. RothschildTown Clerk - Mark MattHighway Superintendent - Cheryl M. Matt  TOWN OF SALINASupervisor - Kathy Zabinski2nd Ward Councilor - Leesa Paul3rd Ward Councilor - Tina Fitzgerald