Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

50 New American Citizens Sworn In At OCC's SRC Arena

Naturalization 003.jpg
Rodger Mirabito
Onondaga Community College

50 people formally became Americans citizens Wednesday at a swearing in ceremony at SRC Arena. Candidates come from a total of 29 countries, spanning five continents.

Countries where the candidates are from include:
Afghanistan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burma, Canada, China, Colombia, Congo (Kinshasa), Cuba, Dominican Republic, Hungary, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, North Macedonia, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Somalia, Syria, Tanzania, Togo, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Yemen.

The ceremony is typically held in Storer Auditorium, but it was moved to SRC Arena this year so families could still attend the ceremony and abide by Covid precautions.